A quick little dinner for you

Who doesn’t have a bit of pasta in the cupboard, and I always have some smokey bacon in the fridge, the perfect thing to make a quick and easy dinner for those nights when you don’t have much time or energy. I usually make, either a tomato sauce or a cream sauce so this is a first for me….a creamy tomato sauce! Oh, I really pushed the boat out this time, didn’t I!

image

creamy tomato and bacon linguine
500g linguine
Olive oil
1 onion finely diced
1 stick of celery finely diced
1-2 garlic cloves crushed
6 slices of smokey bacon diced
1 courgette diced
500g passata
2 tbsp tomato purée
2 tsp of dried basil
1/2 tsp oregano
100g full fat cream cheese ( like Philadelphia, I use aldi equivalent)
Grated Parmesan to sprinkle over
Cook your linguine in salted boiling water for around ten minutes or until al dente. Meanwhile sweat your onions and celery until soft then turn up the heat and throw in your bacon and fry off. Add the courgette and garlic and cook for a further two minutes. Pour in the passata and add the purée and herbs and cook for another five or so minutes. Now add the cream cheese and allow to melt in and stir it through.
Drain off the linguine and add the sauce, mix thoroughly and serve. Sprinkle over the Parmesan. Enjoy with a well deserved glass of wine!

6 thoughts on “A quick little dinner for you

  1. I like the way you bravely list the “full fat cream cheese”. I just had penne with some Blue Cheese sauce. It was extra delicious. I think this sauce of yours is very nice, with smoky bacon, Parmesan and basil, you can’t go wrong. Next time, I shall try this recipe. Enjoy your week!

    • Lol, yes I’m a full fat, real butter kinda girl! But feel free to substitute with low fat, I’m sure it wouldn’t make too much difference. If I did, I might get into that bikini for the holiday! ( by bikini I mean tankini really!)

    • so glad I’m not on my own! Who knows what they put in the fake stuff, and no matter what,it just doesn’t taste as good as the real deal!

Leave a Reply

