The softest chocolate cupcakes ever!

“Sugar”, that’s what I said as I screwed up my face. Thankfully my naughty little secret of licking my little finger after scooping the last spoonful of mix into the last cupcake case, came in very useful today. I’d forgotten to add the sugar earlier and only for licking my pinky, I’d have been non the wiser until someone else had taken a bite into those sweet less cupcakes….now for me , that really would be embarrassing! But all the same, what a waste of my beautiful golden cupcake cases. Each one destroyed as it was scooped out, to add in the forgotten sugar. But alls well that ends well, the batter didn’t seem to mind being manhandled and I hope I’ve learned my leasson!
image

softest chocolate cupcakes
130g plain flour
200g caster sugar
70g cocoa powder
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda (I use a level 2.5 ml side of a medicine spoon)
1 tsp of baking powder (I use a level 5ml side of a medicine spoon)
1/2 tsp of salt
1 egg
125ml full fat milk
60ml of vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
125ml boiling water
1 tsp coffee powder
Preheat you oven to 170 C. Put your cupcake cases (fairly large ones)into a tin. In a large bowl whisk the six first dry ingredients together to add air and get rid of any clumps. In another bowl whisk together the egg, milk, vegetable oil and vanilla together and then add to the dry ingredients. Mix well to combine. Dissolve the coffee in the boiling water and slowly add to the mix. Beat it all together for a couple of minutes. Fill the cupcake cases three quarters full and bake in the oven for 14-16 minutes. Leave to cool.
vanilla bean buttercream
100g butter
300g icing sugar
Large pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla bean paste (or indeed extract if that’s all you have)
4 tbsp cream or milk

Beat the butter with a wooden spoon until softened and lightened in colour. Add one third of the icing sugar, beating in well after each addition. Add the salt, vanilla bean paste and one tablespoon of cream at a time and keep beating until you have a smooth buttercream. Fill your piping bag and decorate your cupcakes as you please. I promise you, they’ll go down a treat!
image

One thought on “The softest chocolate cupcakes ever!

Leave a Reply

