Two point, hearty sweet potato chilli

image

A load of my friends are doing weight watchers. They are all getting skinnier, and I’m just staying me. I could do with losing an inch here and there so I’m falling back on good old vegetable soups and stews. Plenty of vegetables and no bread and butter, you feel full without all those carbs. I can’t help it, I just love my food too much and plus, I think I was meant to have curves!

HEARTY SWEET POTATO CHILLI
2 tbsp olive oil
1 red onion finely diced
2 sticks of celery finely diced
3 garlic cloves crushed
2 inch piece of ginger finely grated
2 tins of tomatoes
2 tbsp tomato purée
500 ml chicken stock
2 tsp cumin
1- 2 red chillies finely chopped
1 star anise
1 tsp salt
2 sweet potatoes chopped into cubes
1 courgette in cubes
1 red pepper in cubes
1 200g tin naturally sweet sweetcorn
Fresh coriander to sprinkle on top
image

Gently sweat the onions and celery in the oil till soft. Add the garlic and ginger and cook, if it starts to stick add a splash of water. Throw in your tomatoes and stock and bring to the boil. Turn the heat down adding your spices, salt and sweet potatoes. Cook for 15-20 minutes, then add your courgette, pepper and sweetcorn cook for a further 15-20 mins. Eat as a hearty soup or with rice for a dinner. Make sure to serve with a sprinkling of coriander. You could add some leftover cooked chicken at the end of cooking if you fancy some protein. Feel full with hardly any points!

Leave a Reply

