Emma’s sticky toffee pudding

image

When I had this at my friends house once, it was so good I just had to have the recipe and it has been lovingly adopted. Recipes, scrawled on to bits of paper are like some kind of magical formulas to me, I get so excited. My most precious ones are those old scraps, handed down. There was one in particular that meant a lot to me, a biscuit recipe, sandwiched with buttercream. It brings up childhood memories so strong, I can almost smell the dear old lady that made them…she always smelled of freshly cooked biscuits. They moved when I was ten and I never saw her again. She died about ten years ago. A few years later, I mentioned to my mum how I wish I had that recipe and low and behold she handed me a small, well used sheet of note paper with the magical recipe hand written by Edith herself. I couldn’t believe it. At the time, I was so up to my eyes in having babies that somehow that priceless little piece of history vanished into thin air. It still breaks my heart.
But here’s a recipe that was handed to me by my friend, who’d been given it from her mom. And now here it is in you hands.

STICKY TOFFEE PUDDING

170ml boiling water
170g chopped dates
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3 tsp instant coffee granules
3/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
85g butter softened
140g caster sugar
2 eggs
170g self raising flour

TOFFEE SAUCE

110g brown sugar
110g butter
6 tbsp cream
image

Preheat oven to 180C. Measure the water and put the dates, coffee, vanilla and bicarb in and leave to stand. Cream the butter and sugar. Add the eggs and fold in the flour with a metal spoon. Add the date and coffee mixture to make a sloppy batter. Pour into a baking tin and bake for 25 minutes . Cool before cutting. To make the sauce, melt all the ingredients together. Pour over the pudding along with a little cream. It’s so scrumptious, your gonna be making this again.
image
Recipe courtesy of Emma Colbert .

Leave a Reply

