Little French beauties

image

Trying out a new recipe is magical, you’ve just got a few boring ingredients and with that recipe, hey presto, something wonderful. To be honest I’ve never even eaten Madeleine’s before, so I didn’t know what to expect. I was given the recipe and scalloped baking tray by my friend, who obviously knows me well….I love a new challenge especially when it comes to baking! She is French and can be my critic later on and let me know if they are up to scratch. I’m pretty happy with the outcome, they have the characteristic hump on one side and the beautiful shell on the other. Best made on a day you are doing jobs around the house as there are a couple of resting times involved. This recipe makes 40 so halve the amount if you like.

Natalie’s Madeleine’s

4 eggs
180g sugar
280g plain flour
15g baking powder
50g runny honey
Zest of 1 lemon
225g butter
image

Using an electric whisk, whisk the eggs and sugar until pale and fluffy. Whisk in the flour baking powder and honey. Leave to rest for one hour. Melt the butter ( it needs to be hot but not scalding ). Whisk in on the low setting. Leave for one more hour. Preheat the oven to 200 C. Fill the mould nearly all the way and bake for 8 minutes. Cool and dust with icing sugar. Enjoy with a cup of coffee.
image

One thought on “Little French beauties

Leave a Reply

