Distracted

Today I should have done the cleaning, well at least some of it. But after getting a real bargain yesterday, a set of twenty four old books for ten euros, I had to reorganise my bookcase. It is my pride and joy, as I love books, so time just ticked away. Mainly because, whilst sorting out my cookbooks, I got slightly distracted reading recipes. Something in which I can quite easily lose myself. Thus I came across a recipe for Viennese sandwiches. Yum, I have to try them, and yes I did manage to squeeze in some cleaning in the end!
image

Chocolate Viennese sandwiches
225 g self raising flour
90g cocoa
30 g corn flour
225 g butter softened
90 g icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Chocolate buttercream
100 g butter softened
140g icing sugar
2 tbsp drinking chocolate powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp milk

Preheat oven to 180 C. Grease two trays. Beat together the butter and icing sugar. Sift the flour cocoa and corn flour together. Slowly add to the butter along with the vanilla and mix as you go to form a soft dough. Shape into small balls (about the size of a large marble) and press down with a fork. Bake for 15-20 minutes, but not till hard. Cool on rack.
To make the buttercream, beat the butter till light and creamy, add the other ingredients and beat till smooth. Layer between two biscuits and dust with a little icing sugar.
image

Leave a Reply

