Good mood breakfast

20130510-132431.jpg

I used to dread breakfast, not really hungry so I would just eat something for the sake of it, cos I knew it was important to. Well now, I actually look forward to it and its not expensive, I know all the ingredients are healthy and I can make it exactly to my taste, no picking out the dreaded raisins in my case. It’s dead simple to make and lasts me about a week. And did I say, it’s scrummy.

Nuts and seeds granola

300 g oats
100 g sunflower seeds
100 g flaked almonds
100 g hazelnuts (I like to buy whole and crush them so you get big chunks)
50 g desiccated coconut
4 tablespoons sesame seeds
125 g maple syrup
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 150 c. Mix dry ingredients. Mix the syrup honey and vanilla together. Combine and tip onto two trays and spread evenly and bake for 25-30 minutes. Allow to cool fully before loosening off the tin with a fish slice. Keep in an airtight container for up to a month. Serve with ice cold milk or Greek yogurt and a fruit compote.

20130510-132519.jpg

4 thoughts on “Good mood breakfast

  1. I made this last night and had it for my breakfast this morning…and oh my, how simply scrumptious! Far tastier than shop bought granola, not packed full of unnecessary amounts of sugar and just so quick and easy to make. It certainly has put me in a good mood! Thank you:)

Leave a Reply

